Biomedical and Biotechnological Sciences

The Department of Biomedical and Biotechnological Sciences is composed of four sections: Anatomy&Embryology, Physiology, Microbiology and Pathology&Oncology.

The headquarter of the Department is located in Via Androne, 81 along with Microbiology and Pathology&Oncology sections. The remaining two sections of Anatomy & Embryology and Physiology are located in the main campus of the University, Via Santa Sofia, 87 and Viale Andrea Doria 6, respectively.

At the present time, the academic staff of the department includes about 60 members. They are involved in several teaching programs which train undergraduate and graduate students and pursue original scientific research in different bio-medical areas.

Didactics and research activities

The Department of Biomedical and Biotechnological Sciences is mainly involved in the Medicine, Dentistry, Motor and Sport Sciences, Farmacy and Biology Schools. Furthermore, teaching activities also include bachelor courses and master courses in biomedical fields. Three international Ph.D. programs in Microbiology, Physiology and Oncology are also offered for post-doc students along with their specialization schools of clinical microbiology, clinical pathology and medical oncology.

The research fields working within the Department are: Anatomy, Histology, Physiology, Development & Neuroscience, Microbiology, Molecular and cellular bases of diseases, Pathophysiology  and Oncology.


Via Santa Sofia 64, I-95123 Catania

Filippo Drago

Erasmus and Internationalisation Delegate
Giovanni Li Volti

Administrative contact for didactics
Enzo Grasso

Last updated: 
09/06/2017 - 14:01